MWWBA Daffodil

Mid Wales Women's Bowling Association


In the early 1970’s there were women playing bowls in several Clubs in the central area of Wales.  Two Clubs Knighton in 1961 and Llandrindod Wells in 1971 were affiliated to South Wales & Mon. County Women’s Bowling Association.  Members of these Clubs taking part in competitions and County games travelled many miles.

Out of these marathon journeys came the idea mooted by Miss Linda Parker, MBE and the Late Mrs Betty Richards of the Knighton Club that a third County Association centred in Mid-Wales would be a great help for the two affiliated Clubs – and would stimulate the game of bowls for women over a much wider area.

Mid Wales Women’s Bowling Association was formed at a General Meeting held at the Hampton Hotel, Llandrindod Wells on Saturday, 2nd November 1974 when representatives from Brecon, Knighton, Llandeilo, Llandovery, Llandrindod Wells, Tybie Club, Llandybie and Rhayader Clubs were present together with Officers from the Welsh Association.

The Association was formed and the Officers elected were: -

President - Mrs Dorothy Thorne, Llandovery
Senior Vice-President - Mrs Dorothy Jones, Llandrindod Wells
Junior Vice-President - Mrs Marian Phillips, Brecon
Hon. Secretary - Miss Linda Parker, MBE. Knighton
Hon. Treasurer - Mrs Betty Richards, Knighton

A new County needed new colours and insignia.  Something different and striking to be in keeping with the mood of the 70’s!  Where to find it?  Linda and Betty attended meetings in Cardiff and of course there was always time for a bit of shopping! They were in Howells of Cardiff one day and were struck by the daffodil on Howells’ paper bags!  That would be great – a daffodil, emblem of Wales, on a purple background.  So the badge of Mid-Wales – designed by Paul Cox of Howard Bros. was born.

The first Annual General Meeting was held on the 8th November 1975 at the Llanfair Grange Hotel, Llandovery, when all the above Officers were re-elected en bloc.

Mrs Betty Richards Founder Treasurer and Miss Linda Parker, MBE Founder Secretary were elected Hon. Life Members for their dedication to the Mid Wales Women’s Bowling Association in 1993 and 1999 respectively.

From those beginnings in a General Meeting November 1974 our Association has grown in number and stature and has gone from strength to strength with many National and World accolades achieved.

Today, our Clubs include:  Queen’s Road, Aberystwyth, Berriew, Brecon, Builth Wells, Carno, Churchstoke,
Hay-on-Wye, Knighton, Llanidloes, Llandrindod Wells, Machynlleth, Newtown, Presteigne and Talgarth and Welshpool.




Bowls on grass